Author Topic: Loner and Jobless (or with limited income)  (Read 169 times)

Mimi

• Lurking Crowd
  • 0 credits
  • View Inventory
  • Send Money To Mimi
  • A/S/L : 25/Female/MS
  • I am : Eccentric Loner
  • Loner Personality: INTJ (The Scientist)
  • My loner philosophy : I am who I am.II am who I am.
Loner and Jobless (or with limited income)
« on: October 25, 2016, 05:01:14 PM »
Being a loner is one thing, but not knowing how to provide for yourself financially is another. I graduated college almost 2 years ago with a Business Admin degree. The job search that came after was brutal! I felt so lost (still do) and it doesn't help that I still live with my emotionally distant/manipulative mother and a jerk of a father. After many failed attempts at job searching, I chose the only opportunity that came my way. I became an AmeriCorps VISTA which basically means that I'm a professional volunteer. I get paid a stipend of about $870 per month with 0 benefits and a non tax exempt Education Grant/Award once my service year is over.
On the bright side, my student loans are in forbearance while I'm serving, and although I have to pay taxes on the ED Award, it's money that would be used to pay off my student loans or tuition assistance if I go back to school. This "job" only last a year and I refuse to do it for another year! What will I do once my VISTA service year is over? My employment situation hasn't changed and I'm filled with worry about my future. I need to move away from my parents (they are toxic to my mental health) and I want a job that pays me a real living wage with benefits.