Author Topic: South African loner  (Read 163 times)

WightKnight

• Lurking Crowd
  • 0 credits
  • View Inventory
  • Send Money To WightKnight
  • A/S/L : 36 Male Johannesburg
  • I am : Just a Loner by Choice
  • Loner Personality: ISTP (The Mechanic)
  • My loner philosophy : Don't really have one
South African loner
« on: September 04, 2016, 08:09:22 PM »
Hello,

I've never been the type to join forums before, so this will be a new experience for me. I ended up here because of a sudden brainfart that led me to wonder if there was group or something where loners would share their experiences - and one Google search later, here I am.

I work as a journalist, mostly writing about a TV, but I have a regular side gig writing for the SA gaming website NAG Online.

My loner lifestyle is something that has progressed over the years. I've always enjoyed being alone to some degree, though lately it seems like it's heading to a sort of critical mass, to the point where I see what few friends I have maybe three or four times a year. The fact that my job requires me to go into the office only two days a week doesn't help.

Much like my social life, my hobbies used to be broader. I used to dabble in cartooning and martial arts and other stuff, but these days I just spend most of my time playing videogames.

I don't really have any trouble dealing with people and I don't feel uncomfortable or awkward when I'm with a friend, a group of friends, a crowd of strangers, or whatever... It's just not something I feel the need to seek out. In fact, friends and acquaintances like my snide sense of humour and usually did try to include me in activities - but I guess they gave that up as a lost cause years ago. I dunno. I just feel super tired most of the time, I guess.

One or two friends have remarked that they don't know how I stand the loneliness - but I guess if the loneliness actually bothered me, I'd be doing something about it. I guess that's what makes me a loner.